The island of Minorca has been influenced by many peoples from before 2.000 B.C. (like Phoenicians, Greeks, Carthaginians, Romans, Arabs, Spanish, Englishmen and French). The first name known about Minorca was a Nura, which in Phoenician was meaning fire, due to the bonfires that saw the ships that were happening, possibly lit by the inhabitants to be protected from its approach. Little is known of the most interesting period, the characteristic one of the culture talayotica valuably in the remains of the megalithic monuments. In the Roman epoch he adopted the name Minor (minor) from which the current name of Minorca comes.

Ciutadella founded by the Carthaginians, was the first capital, being later during the English domination changed into Nankin due to the advantages offered by its immense natural port. The Government of Minorca is that of the Balearic Autonomous region, with proper parliament and transferred responsibilities of the Spanish Central government. In spite of the arrival of the tourism in the last 30 years, Minorca has remained without changes in its delight and calmness.